13 February 2012 - 1:26pm| by | 1 comment

Ticketmaster admits weekend hack with emails ‘from an unauthorised party’

Ticketmaster admits weekend hack with emails ‘from an unauthorised party’Ticketmaster admits weekend hack with emails ‘from an unauthorised

TicketWeb, part of Ticketmaster, has admitted that emails sent at the weekend asking consumers to update their PDF application came from ‘an unauthorised party’.

Users who are sent marketing emails from Ticketmaster received an email on Saturday entitled “Action Required : Update Your PDF Application”.

The email asked users to click through to a fake website featuring Adobe’s trademarked logos, which aimed to get people downloading software.

Blogger David Cannings, who received the email, wrote: “Nothing conclusively shows that Ticketmaster have been hacked. It could be an affiliate of theirs, or a customer who has permission to send emails using the Ticketmaster service. What is clear is that it definitely came from Ticketmaster and uses their service.

“Four hours after this was first reported to Ticketmaster on Twitter the link still works and some spammers somewhere are still collecting the click-through cash.”

Yesterday, TicketWeb sent an email through its system, reading: “Dear TicketWeb Customer,

“We have discovered that our TicketWeb UK direct email marketing system was exposed to unauthorised access. As a result, you may have received up to four emails on Saturday, February the 11th, from an unauthorised party with the subject as “Action Required: Update Your PDF Application” and containing a link to update an Adobe Acrobat PDF application. Please do not click this link, but delete the email.

“We have taken immediate action to close the vulnerability. You can rest assured that none of your credit card information was vulnerable during this attack.

“We sincerely regret any inconvenience this has caused. We are continuing to investigate this unauthorised access, and will send you a follow-up email when we have additional information.”

Comments

13 Feb 2012 - 21:15
dusty13581's picture
1
comments

Well said! Along with the big question as to why Ticketweb should feel it is "necessary" to share our email data with Ticketmaster.com in America (the source of the email), the one thing I think you missed is that the phishing address is also on ticketmaster.com's server. (the one they use for pre-sales) It should have been taken down within seconds of the discovery. At face value, you'd think they didn't give a .....

Write Your Comment

New to The Drum

You will be sent a verification email. Click on the link in the email to post your comment.

Tick to receive daily newsletter full of the latest news in creative marketing and media.
By checking this box you are agreeing to The Drum's website terms and conditions.

Don't miss out... Get your Digital news by email

Directory Latest